Ocean City Police Department Names Officer Of The Year

OCEAN CITY, MD – Traditionally, the Ocean City Police Department and the Neighborhood Watch Coordinators host an annual Officer of the Year Ceremony to recognize OCPD personnel and volunteers for their accomplishments. With the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and gathering restrictions, the department did not hold its traditional ceremony. In keeping with tradition, we worked with our Neighborhood Watch Coordinators to select an Officer of the Year. We are proud to announce that Corporal Jeffrey Heiser has been selected as the 2020 Officer of the Year.

Cpl. Jeffrey Heiser was chosen as the Officer of the Year by the seven Neighborhood Watch area coordinators. Also nominated were PFC Nathan Denny, PFC Amy Gutowski, PFC Justin Hoban, PFC Joseph Laughlin, PFC Harry Miller, and PFC Tyler Sheffy.

The volunteers of the OCPD Auxiliary Unit, support our organization and donate hundreds of hours of their time to our department and the citizens of Ocean City. In 2020, they donated 1,257 hours to the department. We would like to name Mrs. Kathy Grimes as the Auxiliary Officer of the Year. Mrs. Grimes donated 959 hours last year.

Traditionally, during the ceremony, we would recognize our officers that were awarded departmental commendations for exemplary service. The following officers should be recognized for their dedication to the job in 2020:

Silver Star Commendation: Lt. Frank Wrench, PFC David Whitmer
Meritorious Service Commendation: PFC Joseph Laughlin, Lt. Frank Wrench, PSA Frank Brown
Special Commendation: PFC Chelsea Kautz, PFC Harry Miller, Sgt. Michael Kelly, Cpl. Ryan Flanagan, Cpl. Nicholas Forsyth, Cpl. Christopher Wrench, PFC Amy Gutowski, PFC Brian Nieto
Excellent Performance Commendation: Cpl. Nicholas Forsyth, Cpl. Joseph Lotito, Cpl. Christopher Snyder, PFC Benjamin Berry, PFC Michael Dzurnak, PFC Amy Gutowski, PFC Daniel Jacobs (x2), PFC Jessica Johnson, PFC Chelsea Kautz, PFC Kory Moerschel, PFC Brian Nieto, PFC Erika Rhode, PFC Tyler Sheffy, Ofc. Daniel Richardson, Ofc. Riley Scott, CST Sharon Schultz
Unit Citation: Front Desk Personnel, and South Evening Personnel
Employees that should be recognized for their retirements and promotions in 2020. Lt. Glen McIntyre, Sgt. Ronnie Townsend, Cpl. Albert Custer, Property & Evidence Technician Mary Marshall, and Records Management Supervisor Michelle Monico each retired this year after serving a collective total of nearly 137 years to the Town of Ocean City. The following officers were promoted in 2020: Lt. James Runkles, Sgt. Charles “Chip” Green, Sgt. Michael Kelly, Sgt. Michael Richardson, Sgt. James Schwartz, Cpl. Ryan Flanagan, Cpl. Nicholas Forsyth, Cpl. Shawn Lindsay, Cpl. James Rodriguez, Cpl. Christopher Snyder, PFC Mark Cutter, PFC Connor Finch, PFC Alexander Hawkins, PFC Kevin Herbert, PFC Brian Nieto, PFC Yovanny Ramirez, PFC Tyler Sheffy, PFC Todd Stahm, PFC Corwin Vincent, and Custody Officer Sara Hetherington.

Source: Ocean City Police Department

About Staff Writer

First State Update's Delaware editorial team covers New Castle County, Kent County and Sussex County breaking news, political news, and general news stories. We bring the reader the latest news from the Wilmington, Newark, Dover, Rehoboth Beach and all point in between. If you have news to share, email us at [email protected].

View all posts by Staff Writer →