Newark Police Arrest 100 People At Large Party

On October 20, 2018, Newark Police charged 100 people with Underage Consumption of Alcohol following a report of a disorderly party in the 300 block of East Park Place in Newark, according to Lt Andrew Rubin.

Rubin said at about 3:09 pm, Newark Police received a complaint of a disorderly party in the area of East Park Place and Ashley Road. Officers determined that alcohol was being provided to persons under the age of 21 who were attending the party. There were about 50 subjects gathered in the rear of the residence and some of these subjects were entering into the rear yard of a neighbor’s residence. The neighbor did not give them permission to be in the yard.

Based upon this information, Newark Police obtained a search warrant for the residence on East Park Place. Upon execution of the search warrant by Newark officers, with the assistance of Delaware Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement, University of Delaware Police and New Castle County Police, more than 170 people were found to be in the backyard of the residence.

Officers issued 100 criminal summonses for Underage Consumption of Alcohol to those who had been drinking alcohol and were not 21 years of age. Those subjects who were 21 years of age were released without charges. The majority of the subjects arrested were University of Delaware students. Police also contacted several juveniles at the party, of which two were arrested for Underage Consumption of Alcohol. Both were released to a parent.

All of the arrested subjects were released at the scene to appear in court at a later date.

Charges against the three hosts of the party, who are all University of Delaware students, are pending.

Under Newark City Ordinance 19-5:
“Whoever being under the age of 21 years has alcoholic liquor in his possession at any time or consumes or is found to have consumed alcoholic liquors shall be fined not less than $200.00 and have his State of Delaware driver’s license revoked for a period of 30 days for the first offense, and not less than 90 days, nor more than 180 days, for each subsequent offense. If the underage person does not have a State of Delaware driver’s license, that person shall be fined not less than $250.00 for the first offense, and not less than $300.00, nor more than $500.00, for each subsequent offense.”, said Rubin.


Sign In For Unlimited Access

Please Log in, or sign up for a new account and choose a subscription to continue reading.

Register


About Staff Writer

First State Update's Delaware editorial team covers New Castle County, Kent County and Sussex County breaking news, political news, and general news stories. We bring the reader the latest news from the Wilmington, Newark, Dover, Rehoboth Beach and all point in between. If you have news to share, email us at desk@firststateupdate.com.

View all posts by Staff Writer →