Voters Guide, Newark To Vote For Mayor, Two Council Members Today

The city election for Mayor and Council Districts 1 and 2 is to be held on today, Tuesday, April 9, 2019.

Polls open at 7:00 a.m. and close at 8:00 p.m.

The polling places for the election are as follows:

  • District 1 – Wesleyan Church of Newark, 708 West Church Road
  • District 2 – Aetna Fire Station #8, 410 Ogletown Road
  • District 3 – Aetna Fire Station #7, 7 Thorn Lane
  • District 4 – First Church of Christ, Scientist, 48 West Park Place
  • District 5 – First Presbyterian Church, Memorial Hall, 292 West Main Street
  • District 6 – First Church of the Nazarene, 357 Paper Mill Road

Catherine Ciferni
George J. (Jerry) Clifton
Brandon Joseph Farzad
Kasai Guthrie

District 1 Council member
James Joseph Horning, Jr.
Mark Morehead

District 2 Council member
Sharon Hughes
Maria Ruckle

District 4 Council member
Christopher J. Hamilton

Per Newark City Code Section 10-19, since there is only one candidate in Council District 4, Mr. Hamilton will be declared the winner by the Election Board and sworn in for a new term at the April 18, 2019 Council organizational meeting.

Election Calendar

April 9, 2019 – Election Day; Polls open 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.; Deadline to submit absentee ballots to the City Secretary’s Office at 5:00 p.m.

April 11, 2019 – Election Board meeting at 5:00 p.m. to certify election results.

April 18, 2019 – Organizational meeting at 6:00 p.m. to swear in newly elected Mayor and members of Council.

About Staff Writer

First State Update's Delaware editorial team covers New Castle County, Kent County and Sussex County breaking news, political news, and general news stories. We bring the reader the latest news from the Wilmington, Newark, Dover, Rehoboth Beach and all point in between. If you have news to share, email us at

View all posts by Staff Writer →